What’s your life like?

morning-coffee-breakfast_445-19324084When I was in seminary, one of the courses we had to take was an introduction to Apologetics, which is a big fancy word for defending the Christian faith. The idea was that not only were we exposed to a variety of different arguments for a rational foundation for Christianity as a worldview, but also that we begin to think about how to respond to questions that those around us might have with regard to that. Many of these arguments are certainly very effective, although of course whether or not you accept their conclusions is certainly up to you, but the reason I bring this up is that there was this one guy in our discussion forums (I did my seminary degree online so this was basically a glorified chat room) who could not get away from the technique of basically telling people, “My worldview is right, yours is wrong, and you need to accept that if you’re going to get saved.” Throughout the course we were exposed to a number of approaches, including this one, and I have to say it is one that I could not disagree with more.

If you’re reading this, I don’t know who you are as a person. I don’t know what your background is, what your beliefs are, or what your worldview is. One thing I do know is that you hold those beliefs for a reason. Whatever that reason is, that is something I will always respect. We may disagree on much, and hell, we probably do, but that’s fine. I will never try to inflict my beliefs on you. (In the interests of full disclosure, I should add that one of the other techniques we were exposed to was to build relationships first, not in the sense of “targeting” someone but rather in the interest of getting to know people, to help lighten their load a little, and just generally make life better for being there. That was my favourite approach.)

It should come as no surprise that I hope that through what you read here you come to see that Jesus is very much a real person who cares very much for you, and that getting to know Him doesn’t require fitting yourself into a box or changing who you are in order to be more acceptable to Him. Thing is, we don’t have to talk about that all the time. Life is life, you know? With all of its ups and downs and mundane in-betweens. All of that “other stuff” is just as important. It makes up who we are, and it reflects our personalities.

I mean, I saw Star Trek Beyond this past weekend, and I have to honestly it is one of the best Star Trek movies I’ve ever seen. (Yes, I am a Trekkie.) It was funny, thought-provoking, and a bit of a tear-jerker. Plus the action scenes were pretty great, too.

Oh, and I love long hair. I had to get it cut this past weekend (more on that at a later date), but I loved having it long. It gave me a sort of “Lord of the Rings meets Three Musketeers” look, which I absolutely loved. Right now, though, I’m trying to figure out what the hell to do with it. Can you braid short hair? I don’t know. I tried it with my bangs this morning and when the kids at work got on the bus, they gave me this sort of “You miss your long hair, don’t you?” look, so I think there’s a little room for improvement.

As I write this, it’s getting to be about the time to turn in for the night, which makes me think I can’t be the only one who tries to squeeze their morning routine into progressively less time as the week progresses. What takes a solid hour on Monday morning fits, with a whole lot of pushing and shoving, into maybe 45 minutes by Friday, just so I can have the pleasure of hitting the snooze button one more time.

That’s the kind of stuff that makes up our days, and it is just as important as thoughts of God or discussing whether or not He even exists. All of that stuff, in one way or another, makes up your life, and that makes it important. I guess all of that is to say that this is my way of trying to find common ground with all the misfits that end up here. That’s my life right now (in a very brief nutshell). What’s yours look like?

Leave a Reply

